First Impressions

View from Beatties Carpark over Darlington street Methodist Church and Chapel Ash in the distance
View from Beatties car park over Darlington street Methodist Church and Chapel Ash in the distance – photo by Gaelle Konak

I arrived in Wolverhampton by accident in 2005. I was moving to this part of the UK to start a College course, and was looking for accommodation. I hadn’t had much luck in Birmingham and its suburbs so far and was feeling a little deflated and homesick when I got on the Metro tram to Wolverhampton one afternoon in order to kill some time.

As I arrived in the city, I immediately felt it “fitted” me, with its intimate pedestrian centre, its beautiful church and churchyard and period buildings around cobbled streets. It clearly was an industrial town with a strong foothold into the past which piqued my curiosity. I was also taken by its many green spaces and towering trees lining the roads, and enjoyed the more man-sized quality of this smaller city after the dizzying hustle and bustle of Birmingham.

And I decided to make it my new home.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. I arrived here in 2008. Having heard a lot of negative stuff about Wolverhampton I was somewhat nervous when I came to my first meeting with the church that had been seeking a new minister. Wondering the streets, meeting the people, it was easy to fall in love with the place and there hasn’t been a day since we moved here that I wished I was somewhere else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

